Saturday 24 May 2014

To This Day: For the Bullied and the Beautiful

by Shane Koyczan
Annick Press
72 pp.
Ages 9+
For release September 2014

In February 2013, Canadian spoken word artist Shane Koyczan grabbed global attention with his anti-bullying message in an animated video of his performance of To This Day on his YouTube channel as part of To This Day Project.

In a brilliant move, Annick Press will publish Shane Koyczan's work and added illustrations from 30 international visual artists.  I look forward to reliving the passion of his words in this new format.

To This Day: For the Bullied and the Beautiful by Shane Koyczan

Uploaded by Annick Press on May 23, 2014 to YouTube.

Tomorrow's Kingdom

by Maureen Fergus
Razorbill Canada
464 pp.
Ages 12-16
Release July 2014

Maureen Fergus' Gypsy King trilogy will soon be completed with the publication of the final book, Tomorrow's Kingdom. Readers met Persephone and Azriel in The Gypsy King (Razorbill, 2012), the first book in this powerful high fantasy series.  In its sequel, A Fool's Errand (Razorbill, 2013), Maureen Fergus eloquently lead readers to another cliffhanger. Only with the publication of Tomorrow's Kingdom will all be answered, I hope.  But I have to warn you: the following trailer seems more like a teaser, since the book is still weeks away from release.

"Tomorrow's Kingdom" Trailer

Uploaded by Maureen Fergus on April 20, 2014 to YouTube.

Monday 12 May 2014

Seven The Series: Meet the Authors

With Seven The Series, published October 2012, soon to be followed by Seven The Sequels (October 2014), Orca Book Publishers have just released a video of all the authors involved in both series.

Seven the Series tells the stories of the seven grandsons of adventurer David McLean upon his death.  The seven teenagers–D.J., Steve, Spencer, Bunny (a.k.a. Bernard), Rennie, Jim (a.k.a. Webb) and Adam–are sent on different missions by their grandfather, as relayed in packages presented to each by their grandfather's lawyer. 

The series, the brainchild of author Eric Walters, includes the following seven books, written by seven of Canada's best writers of children's fiction:
  • Between Heaven and Earth by Eric Walters;
  • Lost Cause by John Wilson;
  • Jump Cut by Ted Staunton;
  • Ink Me by Richard Scrimger;
  • Close to the Heel by Norah McClintock;
  • Devil's Pass by Sigmund Brouwer; and
  • The Last Message by Shane Peacock.
Seven (The Series): Meet the Authors

Uploaded by Orca Book Publishers on May 12, 2014 to YouTube.

Wednesday 7 May 2014

The Tweedles Go Electric

by Monica Kulling
Illustrated by Marie Lafrance
Groundwood Books
32 pp.
Ages 5-8
Released March 2014

Reviewed here on April 8, 2014.

The Tweedles Go Electric
 Uploaded by House of Anansi on May 7, 2014 to YouTube.